World Heritage Sites
in the USA

U.S. World Heritage Sites

The U.S. is home to 23 World Heritage sites. These sites are cultural and natural treasures to the world. The United States was the first nation to propose a “World Heritage Trust” in 1965. Yellowstone National Park became the first World Heritage site in 1978. That same year Mesa Verde National Park (Colorado) and 10 other sites around the world also were listed as "World Heritage" sites.

Current Sites

  • Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming, Montana, Idaho (1978)
  • Mesa Verde National Park, Colorado (1978)
  • Grand Canyon National Park, Arizona (1979)
  • Independence Hall, Pennsylvania (1979)
  • Everglades National Park, Florida (1979)
  • Redwood National and State Parks, California (1980)
  • Olympic National Park, Washington (1981)
  • Mammoth Cave National Park, Kentucky (1981)
  • Cahokia Mounds State Historic Site, Illinois (1982)
  • Great Smoky Mountains National Park, North Carolina, Tennessee (1983)
  • La Fortaleza and San Juan National Historic Site in Puerto Rico, Puerto Rico (1983)
  • Yosemite National Park, California (1984)
  • Statue of Liberty, New York, New Jersey (1984)
  • Chaco Culture, New Mexico (1987)
  • Monticello and the University of Virginia in Charlottesville, Virginia (1987)
  • Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park, Hawaii (1987)
  • Kluane / Wrangell-St Elias / Glacier Bay / Tatshenshini-Alsek, Alaska, Yukon, British Columbia (1979, 1992, 1994)
  • Taos Pueblo, New Mexico (1992)
  • Carlsbad Caverns National Park, New Mexico (1995)
  • Waterton Glacier International Peace Park, Montana, Alberta (1995)
  • Papahānaumokuākea Marine National Monument, Hawaii (2010)
  • Monumental Earthworks of Poverty Point, Louisiana (2014)
  • San Antonio Missions, Texas (2015)

Projected Future U.S. World Heritage Nominations

The U.S. World Heritage Tentative List features cultural and natural sites of outstanding value to humanity. The Tentative List is intended to be the source of U.S. World Heritage nominations for approximately the next 10 years. It was updated with US/ICOMOS's help in 2017.

Cultural Sites

  • Brooklyn Bridge, New York
  • Central Park, New York
  • Chicago Early Skyscrapers
  • Civil Rights Movement Sites, Alabama
  • Dayton Aviation Sites, Ohio
  • Ellis Island, New Jersey and New York
  • Hopewell Ceremonial Earthworks, Ohio
  • Jefferson (Thomas) Buildings, Virginia (extension)
  • Moravian Bethlehem District, Pennsylvania
  • Mount Vernon, Virginia
  • Serpent Mound, Ohio
  • Wright (Frank Lloyd) Buildings

Natural Sites

  • Big Bend National Park, Texas
  • Central California Marine Sanctuaries and Parks, California
  • Marianas Trench National Monument, U.S. Territory, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Guam
  • National Marine Sanctuary of American Samoa/Rose Atoll National Marine Monument
  • Okefenokee National Wildlife Refuge, Georgia
  • Pacific Remote Islands National Monument, U.S. Territorial Waters
  • Petrified Forest National Park, Arizona
  • White Sands National Monument, New Mexico